What is the Circle of Friends?


It is made up of all those who, since this Circle was founded in 2011, have decided to support the Foundation’s actions in favour of young Europeans and its aim of strengthening cohesion among these young people through the implementation of concrete projects.

This support mainly takes place in the form of donations that help increase the number of projects backed by the Foundation every year; it is a significant addition to other sources of funding from within the Foundation and from the family.


Why have a Circle of Friends?


 The number of projects submitted to the Foundation every year, in particular those worthy of being selected for their quality and their relevance to the Foundation’s mission, had greatly exceeded the possibilities offered by the resources that were available. It thus became necessary to find additional resources, in a context aggravated by a decrease in public funding usually granted to associations. Therefore, at the end of 2010, the Foundation’s Board of Governors decided to create a Circle of Friends.


The Honorary Committee of the Circle of Friends


It is made up of figures known for their commitment to the European Union who have had the opportunity to hold leadership positions in organisations directly related to European issues (European Commission, European Parliament, Council of Europe, associations).

It provides a set of skills and guarantees concrete, recognised involvement in European construction.

The Foundation’s Circle of Friends, which was officially established in April 2011, now plays this role and also does much more. It is a network of friends who share our commitment to Europe. They either provide us with direct support through their own networks of relations or else promote the Foundation and the projects it supports.



A message from Jimmy Roze, President of the Circle of Friends


The Circle of Friends of the Hippocrene Foundation first fulfils the aim of better meeting the requests for support placed by associations involved in developing projects enabling youth to take action for Europe.

Thanks to our generous donors, whom I would like to warmly thank, the number of projects supported by the Foundation has already increased, in particular in the essential area of “education for Europe”, which it considers one of its priorities.

I would also particularly like to thank the members of the Circle’s Honorary Committee who support us through their unwavering belief in Europe and the essential role to be played by civil society!

By deciding to make even a modest donation and thus join the Circle of Friends, you are enabling young people to become aware of their future European citizenship and are yourself taking a step to experiencing Europe up close. Join us now!

The Hippocrene Foundation would like to sincerely thank all donors who have contributed their support. These include members of the founders’ family and the Board of Governors, members of the Circle of Friends of the Hippocrene Foundation, and donors donating to a specific cause such as that of Romanian orphans.


Mme Michèle Guyot-Roze et Jimmy Roze
Mme Nicole Merville et François Merville
M. et Mme Hervé Guyot
M. et Mme Alexis Merville

Mme Dorothée Merville-Durand et Régis Durand

Grands donateurs

Comte et Comtesse Guy de Brantes
M. et Mme Daniel Guerlain
M. et Mme Claude Janssen
M. René Marbot
Mme Martine Méheut et M. Bernard Méheut

The mebers of Circle of Friends


Jimmy Roze

Jimmy Roze has been involved in the activities of the Hippocrene Foundation since 2006. With a degree from the ESSEC business school, he spent most of his career with Electricité de France and Gaz de France, where he held various positions in the areas of marketing, economic research, international procurement and international development, which gave him the opportunity to direct and coordinate several international structures. During the 1990-2002 period, he also actively participated in the establishment of the European representation and lobbying organisation for the gas industry in Brussels and in the negotiation of liberalisation provisions for the sector with the European Commission. After 2002, he created an energy consulting and research firm of which he is currently Executive Director.


Jacques Toubon

Honorary member of the Council of State, Minister for Culture and Francophony from 1993 to 1995, and Minister of Justice from 1995 to 1997, Jacques Toubon was advisor to the President of the Republic from 1997 to 1998. He has a law degree and graduated from Sciences Po Lyon and the École nationale d'administration. He was a member of the prefectural corps before taking up duties, from 1968 to 1976, in several ministerial cabinets (Overseas, Parliamentary Relations, Agriculture, Interior, Prime Minister).
RPR General Secretary from 1984-1988, MP for Paris at the National Assembly from 1981 to 1997 and Chairman of the Law Commission (1986-1987), Jacques Toubon was also Mayor of the 13th District of Paris from 1983 to 2001, Councillor of Paris from 1983 to 2008, and Member of the European Parliament from 2004 to 2009. He was President of the Council of Europe’s Eurimages Fund (2002-2009).
He was President of the Advisory Board for the Cité Nationale de l'Histoire de l'Immigration from 2007 to 2014. From January 2010 to July 2014, he was French Delegate for the Taxation of Cultural Goods and Services. Jacques Toubon was a member of the High Authority for the Distribution of Works and the Protection of Rights on the Internet and the High Council for Integration.
Since 18 July 2014, he has been the Defender of Rights.


Catherine Lalumière

Catherine Lalumière is a lecturer with a PhD in law. Since 2003, she has been President of Maison de l'Europe de Paris and in March 2008, she was elected President of Fédération Française des Maisons de l'Europe (FFME). Her actions and endeavours have been focused on the construction of Europe for many years. Secretary General of the Council of Europe from 1989 to 1994, she was elected Member of the European Parliament for two successive terms (1994-2004). She acted as Vice-President of the European Parliament from 2001 to 2004. These functions led her to write several reports and studies on culture, Europe, cultural diversity and inter-culturalism. Member of Parliament for Gironde from 1981 to 1989, she was State Secretary and Minister during this same period, in particular State Secretary in charge of European Affairs (1984-1986).


Claire Gibault

A conductor, she has directed many concerts and operas in France, Europe, the United States and Japan, in particular: Mozart's Idomeneo at the Washington Opera with Placido Domingo, and Debussy's Pelléas et Mélisande at Covent Garden in London. When working at the Lyon Opera, she developed an art education policy, creating a children's choir with an adapted schedule with French National Education and putting on shows for young audiences. She was the first woman to conduct the La Scala orchestra in Milan and then the musicians of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. She was Claudio Abbado's assistant at La Scala and the Vienna Opera House. In 2004, she created the Orchestra Mozart Bologna by his side and at the same time became a Member of the European Parliament, sitting on the Committee on Culture and Education and the Committee on Women's Rights until 2009. In July 2010, she created Paris Mozart Orchestra, and in September 2010, she published La Musique à mains nues with Éditions de L'Iconoclaste. In November 2010, she was appointed member of the Economic, Social and Environmental Council by the Prime Minister and was then elected Vice-President of the section for Education and Culture for five years. At the same time, she continued her career as guest conductor in France and around the world.


Philippe Herzog

Founding President of the association Confrontations Europe. A graduate of Ecole Polytechnique, a former administrator at INSEE and a university professor of economic sciences, he taught at Paris-X Nanterre University (1973-2003). He was a member of the national board of the French Communist Party (PCF, 1979-1996), from which he resigned in 1996. He was a Member of the European Parliament (1989-2004), Chairman of the Committee on External Economic Relations, and Vice-Chairman of the Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs. He was a member of the Economic and Social Council (1984-1989) and member of the Prime Minister's Council of Economic Analysis (1997-2008). He is currently special advisor to Michel Barnier, European Commissioner for Internal Market and Services.


Jérôme Vignon

He graduated from Ecole Polytechnique in 1964 and ENSAE ParisTech in 1969. From 1969 to 1980, he was Head of the Economic and Social Studies Department in Nantes and then Head of Programmes in Paris for the INSEE Planning Commission, before being called upon to work alongside Jacques Delors, then in charge of macroeconomic conditions and policies, as technical advisor to the cabinet of the Minister for the Economy and Finance (1981-1984). His career then took a European turn. From 1985 to 1998, Jérôme Vignon was in the European Commission. He was first cabinet member for Jacques Delors, President of the European Commission. He then acted as Head of Studies and then Director of the European Commission's Forward Studies Unit. From 1999 to 2000, he was Director in charge of European Strategy and Policies for DATAR. He then returned to the European Commission. From 2000 to 2009, he was head of the "European governance" team and Director for Social Protection & Social Inclusion. Since October 2010, he has been President of the Observatoire National de la Pauvreté et de l'Exclusion Sociale.

Qu’est-ce que le Cercle des Amis ?

 

Il regroupe tous ceux qui depuis la création de ce Cercle, en 2011, ont décidé d’apporter leur soutien à la Fondation Hippocrène dans son action en faveur des jeunes Européens et dans son ambition de renforcer la cohésion entre ces jeunes, à travers des projets concrets.

Ce soutien se manifeste essentiellement par des dons qui contribuent à accroitre le nombre de projets aidés chaque année par la Fondation en venant apporter un complément désormais tout à fait significatif aux autres sources de financement internes à la Fondation ou en provenance de la famille.

 

 

 

Pourquoi un Cercle des Amis

 

Le nombre de projets adressés chaque année à la Fondation et notamment ceux qui mériteraient d’être retenus pour leur qualité et leur pertinence par rapport à la mission de la Fondation, était très supérieur à ce qu’il était possible de soutenir avec les moyens disponibles. Il devenait nécessaire de trouver des ressources complémentaires, dans un contexte alourdi par la réduction de certains financements publics habituellement accordés aux associations. Fin 2010, le Conseil d’Administration de la Fondation, s’appuyant sur ce constat, a décidé de lancer la création d’un Cercle des Amis,

Le Cercle des Amis de la Fondation, mis officiellement en place en avril 2011, joue désormais ce rôle, mais pas seulement car il constitue un réseau d’amis qui partagent notre conviction européenne et nous apportent leur aide directe par leur propre réseau de relations ou bien font connaitre la Fondation et les projets qu’elle soutient.

 

 

 

Le Comité d’Honneur du Cercle des Amis

 

Il est composé de personnalités connues pour leur engagement envers l’Union Européenne et ayant eu l’opportunité d’exercer des fonctions de responsabilité dans des instances en lien direct avec les questions européennes (Commission européenne, Parlement européen, Conseil de l’Europe, Associations).

Il apporte un ensemble de compétences et la garantie d’une implication concrète et reconnue dans la construction européenne.

motdupresident

 

 

 

Le mot du président du Cercle des amis, Jimmy Roze

 

 

 

Le Cercle des Amis de la Fondation Hippocrène répond en premier lieu à l’objectif de pouvoir mieux satisfaire les demandes de soutien émanant des Associations engagées dans la réalisation de projets permettant à des jeunes de vivre l’Europe dans l’action.

Grâce à nos généreux Donateurs, auxquels j’adresse les plus chaleureux remerciements, la Fondation a pu, d’ores et déjà, prendre en charge plus de projets, notamment dans un domaine tout à fait essentiel qu’est celui de « l’éducation à l’Europe » qu’elle considère comme une de ses priorités.

Je remercie aussi tout particulièrement les membres du Comité d’Honneur du Cercle qui nous apportent leur appui et qui nous accompagnent de leur conviction inébranlable dans l’Europe et le rôle que doit jouer la société civile !

En décidant d’entrer grâce à un don, le plus modeste soit-il, au sein du Cercle des Amis vous permettez à des jeunes de prendre conscience de leur future citoyenneté européenne mais vous vivez vous-aussi l’Europe de plus près. N’hésitez plus, rejoignez-nous !

La Fondation Hippocrène remercie infiniment les donateurs qui ont contribué à ces soutiens, que ce soient des membres de la famille des fondateurs ou du Conseil d’Administration, les membres du Cercle des amis de la Fondation Hippocrène ou les donateurs qui affectent leur don à une cause particulière comme celle des orphelins roumains.

 

Mécènes

 

Mme Michèle Guyot-Roze et Jimmy Roze
Mme Nicole Merville et François Merville
M. et Mme Hervé Guyot
M. et Mme Alexis Merville

Mme Dorothée Merville-Durand et Régis Durand

 

Grands donateurs

 

Comte et Comtesse Guy de Brantes
M. et Mme Daniel Guerlain
M. et Mme Claude Janssen
M. René Marbot
Mme Martine Méheut et M. Bernard Méheut

 

 

Les membres du Cercle des amis

PRÉSIDENT DU CERCLES DES AMIS

M. Jimmy Roze

Jimmy Roze est impliqué dans les activités de la Fondation Hippocrène depuis 2006. Titulaire du Diplôme de l'ESSEC, il a accompli son parcours professionnel pour l'essentiel au sein d'Electricité et de Gaz de France où il a occupé diverses fonctions dans le marketing, les études économiques, les approvisionnements internationaux et le développement international qui lui ont donné l'opportunité de diriger ou d'animer plusieurs structures internationales. Au cours de la période 1990-2002, il a également participé activement à la mise en place de l'organisme européen de représentation et de lobbying de l'industrie gazière à Bruxelles et à la négociation des dispositions de la libéralisation du secteur avec la Commission Européenne. Depuis 2002, il a créé une société d'études et de conseil en énergie dont il est le Directeur Exécutif.

PRESIDENTE D'HONNEUR

Mme Marina de Brantes

Installée aux Etats-Unis de 1965 à 1982, Marina de Brantes est membre fondateur et présidente du Comité International du New York City Ballet. De retour en France, elle devient vice présidente du Conseil d’Administration de l’Association pour le Rayonnement de l’Opéra de Paris (AROP) et présidente des American Friends of the Paris Opera & Ballet. En 1983, elle est membre fondateur de Care France dont elle devient Présidente. En 1993, elle participe à la création de la Fédération Européenne des Associations et Fondations pour le Rayonnement des Opéras (FEDORA), dont elle devient vice présidente. En 2005, elle participe à la création des Etés de la Danse dont elle assure la présidence depuis lors. A l’occasion des 20 ans de la Fondation Hippocrène elle rejoint le Cercle des amis et en devient la Présidente d’Honneur. Marina de Brantes est titulaire de nombreuses distinctions : Chevalier de la légion d’honneur, Officier dans l’ordre national du Mérite, Officier des Arts et des Lettres et Médaille de Vermeil de la Ville de Paris.

MEMBRE DU COMITÉ D’HONNEUR

M. Jacques Toubon

Conseiller d'Etat honoraire, Ministre de la Culture et de la Francophonie entre 1993 et 1995 puis Ministre de la Justice entre 1995 et 1997, Jacques Toubon fut conseiller auprès du Président de la République de 1997 à 1998. Licencié en droit, ancien élève de Sciences Po Lyon et de l'École nationale d'administration, il a été membre du corps préfectoral avant d'officier, de 1968 à 1976, au sein de plusieurs cabinets ministériels (Outre-Mer, Relations avec le Parlement, Agriculture, Intérieur, Premier Ministre).
Secrétaire général du RPR 1984-1988, Député de Paris à l'Assemblée Nationale de 1981 à 1997 et Président de la Commission des Lois (1986-1987), Jacques Toubon a également été maire du XIIIe arrondissement de Paris de 1983 à 2001, Conseiller de Paris de 1983 à 2008, Député au Parlement européen de 2004 à 2009. Il a été Président du Fonds Eurimages du Conseil de l'Europe (2002-2009).
Il a été Président du Conseil d'orientation de la Cité Nationale de l'Histoire de l'Immigration, de 2007 à 2014. De janvier 2010 à juillet 2014, il a été Délégué de la France pour la fiscalité des biens et des services culturels. Jacques Toubon a été Membre du Collège de la Haute Autorité pour la Diffusion et la Protection des Droits sur Internet et du Haut Conseil à l'Intégration.
Depuis le 18 juillet 2014, il est Défenseur des droits.

MEMBRE DU COMITÉ D’HONNEUR

Mme Catherine Lalumière

Docteur en droit et Maître de conférences des Universités, préside depuis 2003 la Maison de l'Europe de Paris et a été élue en mars 2008 à la présidence de la Fédération Française des Maisons de l'Europe (FFME). Depuis de longues années, son action et son engagement se tournent vers la construction de l'Europe. Secrétaire générale du Conseil de l'Europe de 1989 à 1994, elle est élue députée européenne pendant deux mandats successifs (1994-2004) et se voit confier la vice-présidence du Parlement européen entre 2001 et 2004. Ces fonctions la conduisent à écrire plusieurs rapports et études sur la culture et l'Europe, la diversité culturelle et l'inter-culturalité. Députée de la Gironde de 1981 à 1989, elle est au cours de cette même période secrétaire d'Etat et ministre, notamment secrétaire d'Etat en charge des Affaires européennes (1984-1986).

MEMBRE DU COMITÉ D’HONNEUR

Mme Claire Gibault

Chef d'orchestre, elle a dirigé de nombreux concerts et de nombreux opéras en France, en Europe, aux États-Unis et au Japon, en particulier : Idomeneo de Mozart à l'Opéra de Washington avec Placido Domingo, Pelléas et Mélisande de Debussy à Covent Garden à Londres. En poste à l'Opéra de Lyon, elle a développé une politique d'éducation artistique créant un ch?ur d'enfants en horaires aménagés avec l'Education nationale et produisant des spectacles pour le jeune public. Elle a été la première femme à diriger à La Scala de Milan puis les musiciens de la Philharmonie de Berlin. Elle a été l'assistante de Claudio Abbado à La Scala et à l'opéra de Vienne. En 2004, elle crée l'Orchestra Mozart de Bologne à ses côtés et devient en même temps députée européenne, siégeant à la Commission Culture Education et à la Commission du Droit des femmes jusqu'en 2009. En juillet 2010, elle crée le Paris Mozart Orchestra et en septembre 2010 elle publie La Musique à mains nues aux éditions L'Iconoclaste. En novembre 2010, elle est nommée membre du Conseil économique, social et environnemental par le premier ministre puis élue vice-présidente de la section Education Culture pour 5 ans. Parallèlement, elle poursuit sa carrière de chef invité en France et dans le monde.

MEMBRE DU COMITÉ D’HONNEUR

M. Philippe Herzog

Président-fondateur de l'association Confrontations Europe. Ancien élève de l'école Polytechnique, ancien administrateur à l'INSEE et professeur agrégé de sciences économiques, il a enseigné à l'université Paris-X Nanterre (1973-2003). Membre du bureau national du PCF (1979- 1996), il a démissionné du PCF en 1996. Il a été député européen (1989-2004), président de la commission des relations économiques extérieures et vice-président de la commission économique et monétaire. Il a été membre du CES (1984-1989), et membre du CAE auprès du 1er ministre (1997-2008). Il est à présent conseiller spécial auprès de Michel Barnier, commissaire européen en charge du marché intérieur et des services.

MEMBRE DU COMITÉ D’HONNEUR

M. Jérôme Vignon

Diplômé de l'Ecole Polytechnique en 1964 et de l'Ecole Nationale de la Statistique et de l'Administration économique en 1969. De 1969 à 1980, il est chef du service d'études économiques et sociales à Nantes puis chef du service des programmes à Paris du Commissariat du Plan de l'INSEE avant d'être appelé aux côtés de Jacques Delors, alors chargé de la conjoncture et de la politique macro économique, en tant que conseiller technique au cabinet du ministre de l'économie et des finances, poste qu'il occupe de 1981 à 1984. Sa carrière prend alors un tournant européen. De 1985 à 1998, Jérôme Vignon est à la Commission européenne. Il est tout d'abord membre du cabinet de Jacques Delors, président de la Commission européenne. Il occupe ensuite le poste de responsable des études puis celui de directeur de la cellule de prospective de la Commission européenne. De 1999 à 2000, il est directeur chargé de la stratégie et des politiques européennes à la DATAR. Il retourne ensuite à la Commission européenne. De 2000 à 2009, il est chef de l'équipe « gouvernance européenne » et directeur pour la protection sociale et l'inclusion sociale. Depuis octobre 2010 il est président de l'Observatoire national de la pauvreté et de l'exclusion sociale.